Metro SWAT

About the Team
The Aurora Police Department joined the Metro SWAT Team in 2006. This team is a multi-jurisdictional team consisting of 19 agencies from Summit and Portage counties. The unit’s members are highly trained with specific skills in the areas of marksmanship, tactical response and containment, emergency medical care, deployment of specialty munitions, and hostage / crisis negotiations.

The Aurora Police Department currently has 3 officers assigned to the team. Two of the members are assigned as tactical operators and the other serves as a hostage / crisis negotiator.